“Job found still running after platform shutdown eclipse” Problem with my Eclipse Juno

English: Total Solar eclipse 1999 in France. *...

(Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Hi, it is some times that I don’t write new articles on my blog, this time I would like to report how I solved this problem on my running Eclipse workspace.

First of all I have deleted (as I have read in the past in many other sites ) the .snap files inside the org.eclipse.core.resources folder with a command like:

rm YOUR_WORKSPACE_FOLDER/.metadata/.plugins/org.eclipse.core.resources/.snap

but for me this has not been sufficient, so trying with every folder inside the .plugins I discovered that I simply need to delete (or rename) the folder org.eclipse.e4.workbench:

rm -rf YOUR_WORKSPACE_FOLDER/.metadata/.plugins/org.eclipse.e4.workbench

Starting again Eclipse this time worked and now I can again use it with all my previous configuration.
I have not googled to know what is the purpose of the data inside the org.eclipse.e4.workbench and also I have to say that of course I have tested only on my Eclipse Juno instance

Have a nice day

5 Responses

  1. Thanks a lot !! For me simply deleting the .snap stuff didn’t work either. I had to remove the org.eclipse.e4.workbench folder too and then it worked again. Can someone could explain this please ?

    • Hi Ronald, as I have written in my post, I have followed an heuristic approach, by trying to remove different folder and verifying that the “workbench” one is the one i need to remove to let Eclipse works…I don’t know why and I don’t have had the time to discover what is the purpose of that folder….so If some one knows, it could be great to know.
      Regards

  2. Same problem here, fixed by removing that workbench folder. Apparently it holds the workbench config, as mine is totally back to how it was directly post Juno installation…

  3. Some really great blog posts on this site, thankyou for contribution.

  4. Thanks a bunchc. you saved me lot of time.

Leave a Reply

